jump to navigation

My foray into the Blogosphere January 27, 2011

Posted by Christopher Lemery in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, here it is-my professional blog! In the coming weeks and months, I hope to use this space to comment on library-related articles I’ve read, my current position, and where I see my career going.

This blog has its genesis in an excellent presentation on blogging given by Erin Dorney, Tara Murray, Amy Pajewski, and Peter Coyl at the Pennsylvania Library Association’s 2010 annual conference, which was held back in October 2010.  Part of the presentation can be found on Erin’s blog here. All 4 presenters talked about their experience using blogs and how they can help make you more visible in the library community. After the presentation, I was thinking that creating a blog would be a great idea and I’d get right on that!

Okay, so I didn’t get right on that, for a couple of reasons. First, I didn’t know what I’d write about, as my current position (about which I’ll say more in a future post) isn’t terribly exciting and is not a professional librarian job. It seems that most librarian bloggers have pretty interesting jobs and are pros. But I now realize that I read enough library-related journal and news articles and I have enough library-related thoughts that I think I could come up with plenty.

The bigger reason for the delay in the blog’s creation is a crisis of confidence about my career choice. My goal in getting into the library world was to be able to directly help people find information, preferably in a reference librarian position.  In deciding to go to library school, however, I bought into the “graying-profession-and-folks-will-retire” narrative, which I now realize is dubious at best. I’ve realized over the past couple of years that to be successful (or even stay afloat) in librarianship, you have to fight tooth-and-nail to get any job and have to fight tooth-and-nail to keep that job. I’m not a fighter by nature, so I really began to wonder whether I’d picked the right career field. I’ve arrived at an answer of “I think so” in the past few months. I’m really good with information, I love to help people, and a library-type environment is a good fit for me. So I decided to start the blog and give this career all I’ve got.

So it begins….

Comments»

1. Tara - March 1, 2011

Welcome to the blogosphere!


Leave a Reply

